Banana Bread Makeover

16 Apr

20130416-122947.jpg

Mother’s Day coming up, I thought this would be a great time to test a new version of banana bread before serving Mother’s Day brunch!

I started with my usual banana bread recipe. Usually, I just add the 1/4c chopped walnuts. The special twist this time is adding a 1/4c of milk chocolate chips along side the walnuts. I love chocolate! To make this extra special (as if chocolate wasn’t enough), I topped off the banana bread with a streusel topping before putting it in the oven.

20130416-123333.jpg

The streusel is as follows:

Mix 1/4c flour and 1/3c brown sugar.
Cut in 2tbsp cold butter with a pastry blender until the mixture looks like coarse crumbs.

I stopped there and sprinkled it on top of my bread mixture. You could add 1/3c chopped walnuts to the streusel for added crunch.

20130416-123929.jpg

The crunchy, sweet streusel creates a great layer of contrast to the moist, delicious banana bread. I absolutely love the little pockets of melted chocolate throughout! So tasty and surprisingly, not to sweet! Anyone else try a banana bread makeover? What changes do you make?

One Response to “Banana Bread Makeover”

  1. Nina April 20, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

    Looks and sounds delicious! I havea similar loaf recipe too but I have tried to add a topping. I’ll have to the recipe from you. They do make great gifts.

Leave a Reply

