Birthday Bites

26 Feb

7thBirthday2

My baby is 7.  SEVEN!  Where has the time gone?  He is pretty special–and not just because he’s my first-born.  Although in all fairness I too am the first-born and I think we’re all pretty special.

7thBirthday

He is funny, loving, incredibly empathetic, and a great big brother.  We’re lucky to be his parents.  Ugh…tears.

Okay, well the most important part of any birthday is the cake!  Since his birthday fell on a Saturday, I brought treats in to his class on Friday.  Life is more chaotic now so I wanted to make things on easy on myself. I went to Vons and purchased two boxes of Madeleine/Brownie Bites.  Whaaat?!  Yes.  They are half Madeleine and half Brownie, swirled together. Both light and rich and bite-sized, they are the little treat to hit the spot.

I added a personal touch by piping some white frosting on top, a dash of festive sprinkles, and a piece of Cake Batter Bark.  The kids thought they were amazing (one asked that I e-mail his mom the recipe–seriously).  Since I had extra, the teachers and office staff got to have some as well and they too thought they were just right and thanked me for bringing in kid-sized treats.

Riding the wave of Friday’s success, I planned Saturday’s birthday cake with the left over bark pieces in mind.  I made a basic chocolate layered cake with white frosting and added sprinkles and Cake Batter Bark as a decorative edging.

7thBirthday3

It was fun and cute…and most importantly, tasty!  Also, I love a good dual-purpose anything and the pieces of bark can kind of be used as spacers for slicing the cake.

This particular birthday carried over into Sunday as well when we celebrated with his schoolmates at a local Pump It Up.  I cut myself some slack though and ordered a cake for that celebration.

Now that I have a 7-year-old, I have come to the following conclusions:

  1. My days of cool are numbered;
  2. His increasing age doesn’t seem to make me feel older.  I don’t quite feel young.  But, I don’t quite feel old [or mature] enough to have a 7-year-old; and
  3. Thank God for cake.  No matter what is going on and how stressful life (or party planning) can be, sitting down and having a piece of birthday cake is such a relief.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Birthday Bites”

  1. Simply Tia February 26, 2013 at 5:43 am #

    Oh my goodness, he must have been super happy with his cake! I really love this.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Looks Like Gold To Me | whoopie cookie - March 16, 2013

    […] on hand, I had a not-quite-full box of yellow cake mix (used for flavoring in the cake batter bark here).  I added 2 eggs and a half cup of vegetable oil and BAM!  Cookie dough.  I dyed the dough […]

Leave a Reply

