Sugar Cream Pie

24 Feb

sugarcreampie

I had a baby, went back to work and dropped out of the human race.  Seriously, side-lined. This was my third child so you’d think I would have been more prepared.  I’ve been absent from my favorite outlet, WhoopieCookie. I apologize for that…to you dear readers and to myself.  Truth is I need an outlet for the creative juices that bubble beneath my legal eagle surface.  Now more than ever!

While I haven’t blogged in…nearing forever, that doesn’t mean that I haven’t been baking, crafting, seeking all things interesting and cool.  But putting my thoughts out there is part of the fun.  So here I go, attempting to get back into the swing of things and hopefully stay there…

Tonight was Oscar Night!  Yay!  By the way, with all my free time I’ve seen all of one of the movies that were nominated for anything.  I saw Skyfall last weekend.  LAST WEEKEND!  So, at least I knew the words to Adele’s Oscar-winning song.  Some day I hope to see the other wonderful films nominated…on demand…in my jammies.

Tonight was all about the pies at our house.  My hub made homemade “chicken pot chicken pot chicken pot pie!”  So for dessert I made my own pie.  Clearly he’s a savory kinda guy and I’m bringing the sweet to the table.  I guess opposites do attract.  He loves the savory so much that he often does not love the sweets that I make.  Tonight, however, everyone adored the glints of gold on this sugar cream pie.

Super easy and pretty quick (if you don’t let it cool all the way like us).

Whatcha Need:

1 Refrigerated Pie Crust
2 Cups Heavy Whipping Cream
1 Cup Sugar
½ Cup All-Purpose Flour
½ Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
2 Tablespoons Unsalted Butter, Cut Into ½ inch Pieces
⅛ Teaspoon Nutmeg

Whatcha Do:

Preheat the oven and a cookie sheet to 425 degrees.  Bring the pie crust to room temperature, per the package instructions.  Place in your dish of preference.  Poke holes in the bottom with a fork and place in the fridge or freezer to cool and harden a bit while you get the filling ready.  Whip heavy whipping cream, sugar, flour, and vanilla.  Pour into the prepared dish and drop the butter pieces all over the top of the filling.  Sprinkle with nutmeg.

Bake the pie for 10 minutes at 425 degrees and then lower to 350 degrees and bake until the crust is golden brown the pie filling is bubbly and only a little jiggly in the center (think Pumpkin Pie consistency).  That was about 50 minutes in my oven.  Let it cool (for as long as you can).  It will continue to set as it cools. Serve at room temperature or cold.

sugarcreampie2

Mine kind of bubbled over and spilled onto the cookie sheet.  Everything still ended up looking and tasting great. This is the first time that I’ve made this pie and it was delish.  I’m already dreaming up an individual version with maybe a [cheater] Nilla wafer crust and a fresh berry on top.  Mmmmm….

One Response to “Sugar Cream Pie”

  1. alotonyourplate March 4, 2013 at 9:30 am #

    I am loving this recipe! It looks so delish! Def. going to attempt this very soon.

Leave a Reply

