A Birthday Suit

9 Jul

I really love cute vintage dresses. I wish I had a little more patience when it comes to shopping thrift stores, I just really don’t have the time. To get my vintage fix, I sew my own from vintage patterns. My first go round, I made this Vintage Vogue pattern for my friend’s wedding last September. It’s a 1940’s style dress. I paired it with a coat that my mother-in-law passed down to me and I absolutely love it!

This is my latest, a modern version of a 1960’s dress from New Look 6000 pattern.

I was channeling my inner Joan when selecting the color. Anyone else sad that Mad Men season 5 is already over? anyways…the design called for a large button on the collar, but I decided I wanted to use a vintage circle style pin instead. I really love my new dress and can’t wait to wear it again!!

My next project is a kelly green dress. I can’t wait to start!

Leave a Reply

