Tortillas Para Mama

5 Jul

I love all forms of bread and growing up in a mostly Mexican family, tortillas were a standard.  Somehow I made it through life having never made any myself though.  Well, on his last visit to the local Mexican market, I asked my hub to pick up a tortilla press.  This weekend I finally got to put it to use.

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup vegetable shortening
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup hot water (keep extra on hand in case you need to add a tiny bit more)

Mix flour, salt and baking powder.  Cut in shortening.  Make a well and add the water.  Combine until your dough comes together and isn’t sticky.  I gather it all in one lump and then cut it with a knife into 8 sections.  Then I rolled each section into a ball.  I put the balls back into the bowl I was working with and covered it with a damp cloth.  Let it rest for 15-20 mins.  Then you can either roll them out as paper thin as possible or use a tortilla press.  Cook on a griddle or hot pan for about 30 seconds on each side.  Slather it with butter and eat!

Or, you can go all the way and fry those puppies!  After frying them I drizzled honey on each side and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar.  Mmmm…Bunuelos!

 

And if you’re a real glutton (like myself) you can serve it with some vanilla ice cream!

4 Responses to “Tortillas Para Mama”

  1. familyvibe July 5, 2012 at 5:04 am #

    Really sounds and looks good! Are you sure you’ve never made them before!

    • whoopiecookie July 5, 2012 at 9:25 am #

      Honestly I hadn’t. But I think the bunuelos with vanilla ice cream is my new favorite dessert!

  2. Jeanette July 5, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    I’ll take a dozen 😊 and when you come to
    visit bring the press and let’s make some.

  3. sybaritica July 9, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    mmm those are nice and thick!

Leave a Reply

