Summer Citrus

19 Jun

Following our Father’s Day gathering at Grandma’s house, as I always do, I came home with a ton of oranges.  They literally felt like they weighed a ton!  My Grandmother’s neighbors have a tree that must produce as many oranges as the state of Florida.  My Grandmother posts a sign at the door, instructing everyone to take oranges home with them when they leave.  That’s how many oranges she regularly has on hand.

I brought my oranges home and my 2-year-old and I juiced them to have with breakfast.

I keep my juice in a pretty (and plastic aka not breakable) pitcher from the seasonal line at Target (another score at only $6).

Later, I used our freshly squeezed orange juice in one of my favorite dinner recipes.

4 pork chops
olive oil
salt
pepper
1/2 yellow or red onion
1/2 orange juice
1 can of whole cranberry sauce

Heat your olive oil in a large skillet.  Slice your onion and cook in the skillet until just tender.  Season both sides of your pork chops with salt and pepper.  Place pork chops in skillet and cook a few minutes on each side on med-high heat.  You want a good crust on both sides.  Add orange juice and cranberry sauce and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, cover and simmer for about 20 minutes until pork chops are cooked all the way through.

I like to serve my pork chops with couscous.  This dish is always a big hit with the kids and adults alike.  Everyone asked for more!

3 Responses to “Summer Citrus”

  1. Nina June 19, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    The chops look delicious. I’m going to try that recipe. I love chops, and cranberries.

    • whoopiecookie June 19, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

      Its really good and I don’t cook so you know its easy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Orange French Toast « whoopie cookie - July 10, 2012

    […] Toast is definitely my favorite breakfast dish. And since my kitchen tends to be heavy on the citrus these days, I threw a little in my breakfast as […]

Leave a Reply

