Short Stacks

14 Jun

Our baseball season ended over the weekend.  After our last game, our team had a potluck party at the field.  Unfortunately for all of us, our game was at 8am!  That meant that not only did we have to be up super early, we had to pull something together to bring to the field with us at 8am…and it had to be appropriate to eat at 10am.

I generally go straight for the sweets, but I’m weird when it comes to eating in the morning.  I just cannot skip breakfast foods.  My husband could easily eat a sandwich and a bag of chips at 9am, in fact I’ve seen him do it.  But I simply cannot eat a lunch food before I’ve had a breakfast food.  Breakfast for dinner, however, is one of my favs!

So, given the timing of our party, I had to bring a breakfast food.  What’s one of my favorite breakfast foods?!  Pancakes!

 

I got up a little early and whipped up your standard pancake batter.  I made about 80 silver dollar sized pancakes.  It sounds like a lot, but goes quick using a griddle.  I was able to get about 15 cooking at a time and they only take a few minutes.

Once cooked, I stacked them 4 high, topped each short stack with a quartered strawberry and skewered them with a bamboo appetizer fork.

I waited until we were about to dig in before drizzling syrup over them.

They were a big hit with both the kids and the parents.  I will definitely make these again.

They are a must have at your next brunch!  Look how pretty they are when they don’t have to travel to a dusty baseball field!

6 Responses to “Short Stacks”

  1. dressesandme June 14, 2012 at 12:03 am #

    They look delish!

  2. modgam June 14, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    these looks soooo yummy! =9

  3. Nina June 14, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    Can you make some pancakes when I come over they look delicious. Great idea for a brunch too. Keep on creating.

  4. louis vuitton outlet April 14, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

    Hey! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able
    to correct this issue. If you have any suggestions,
    please share. Cheers!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweet blessings. | whoopie cookie - March 28, 2013

    […] I stacked 5 pancakes for each of the 1st graders at my son’s school and impaled them with a bamboo fork that was decorated with a foam cross.  Check out another variation here. […]

Leave a Reply

