Thanks, Teach!

13 Jun

This is the last week of school!  Yay, I get to sleep in again!

It is customary to give your teacher a little something to say thank you for all their hard work.  Lets face it, teaching is one of the most challenging careers and is unfortunately typically also under compensated.  Once upon a time I wanted to be a teacher myself.  As the mother of a kindergartener (soon to be first grader), I can say with certainty that I would have been terrible at it.  I simply don’t have the patience.  I have been so beyond pleased with my son’s teachers this year.  He has grown so much and I am so proud of him.

To thank the lovely women who guided my rambunctious 6-year-old this year I put together a couple of gift baskets of sorts, each with their own themes.

The first is similar in structure to a diaper cake.  The bottom layer of the cake is a beach towel.  The middle layer is a couple of beach appropriate easy-on-the-brain magazines.  The top layer is a reusable cup for a cold beverage on a hot summer day.  Each layer is rubber-banded like a diaper cake would be, which is then covered with decorative ribbon.  I added to the “cake” a pair of sunglasses, a tube of sunscreen and two beach ball cake pops.  The whole thing sits on a cake round inside a large plastic basket gift bag, tied off with a coordinating ribbon.  I added a tag which read, “Thank you for making learning so fun, take a break to relax in the sun!”

 

The second thank you gift is a DIY herb garden.

I included a tray with three small pots, three packets of seeds, and a coordinating magazine.  In each pot I added some floral foam and a cake pop.  I wrapped it in a large basket gift bag, tied with the same ribbon.  The tag reads, “Thank you for helping Owen GROW!”

Thank you Ms. Santos and Mrs. Ebbing!  You are both wonderful educators and beautiful people!

Leave a Reply

