Meringues Chantilly

4 Jun

Pinterest got me really interested in meringue (hehe).

So I took a stab at it for the first time.  I used this recipe from our good friends at the Food Network with some mom-ifications (in other words, some shortcuts).

I made the meringue cups per the recipe, but I filled mine with some doctored up Cool Whip.  I’m going to call it “Lime Fresh Cool Whip.”  Anyways, all you do is add the zest of one lime to a tub of Cool Whip and stir to incorporate.  Easy Squeezy.  I then used Strawberry pie filling to top each filled cup.

The meringue and the cool whip are pretty sweet together.  The strawberry pie filing surprisingly wasn’t particularly sweet so it was a nice addition to cut into all that sweet.  I imagine thawing out some frozen strawberries would work too.

Note: After sitting out for a bit, the meringue got chewy.  If you aren’t going to serve these right away you may need to dry them out again in the oven.

This dessert feels really fancy, but it was surprisingly easy to do.  I just love individual desserts!

5 Responses to “Meringues Chantilly”

  1. dressesandme June 4, 2012 at 2:59 am #

    Yum! They look delicious!

  2. Jeanette June 4, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    How come you never make this stuff when I’m
    visiting? Looks yummy 😊

    • whoopiecookie June 4, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

      Actually I recall making lemon cakes and peanut butter cup fudge last time you visited!

  3. Nina June 4, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    Looks delicious! You know I love strawberries. And that chalkboard is there again. I actually love it. Keep on creating!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strawberry Bread with Lime Fresh Cool Whip « whoopie cookie - June 6, 2012

    […] Let it cool and then serve with Lime Fresh Cool Whip. […]

Leave a Reply

