T-Shirt Re-Fashion

30 May

Having delivered a baby just three weeks ago, I am sort of in between sizes these days.  I am certainly more comfortable in my husband’s t-shirts and boxers, but I can’t go out in public like that (can I?).

Well one afternoon while “resting” I took one of his XL plain white Hanes T-Shirts and did a little surgery.

First, I cut along the neckline and both sleeves to remove them.  Then, I made a single cut all the way down the center of the back, rounding the bottom corners.  I then overlapped the two pieces of the back by about 1 or 2 inches and hand stitched it in place, sewing a straight seam down the back so that my bra wouldn’t show.

Then I tried it on.  Looking in the mirror, I pinned a box pleat front and center and hand stitched it in place as well.

Finally, I made the arm holes a little smaller by pinning them shut and hand stitching a straight seam down each side.

I added a decorative touch by ironing on some feathers I cut out of some scrap fabric I had lying around using Heat and Bond.

Not only is this top cute and comfortable, it provides pretty easy access for nursing my new baby!  And the best part is that I had everything I needed on hand.  This project was completely free!

4 Responses to “T-Shirt Re-Fashion”

  1. KurtzCrafts May 30, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    Love it! I want a shirt covered in feathers too! It looks very comfy and flatters your figure =)

  2. Dora May 30, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    That is so cute. I love everything about it. The neckline is so sweet and the sleeves too. Did you pleat the neckline? The design is adorable. It’s very flattering on you. You are so talented!

  3. whoopiecookie May 30, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    Thanks so much! Yes, the neckline is pleated. Sorry I didn’t take pics as I went, I was sort of winging it…

Leave a Reply

