Whole Living: Chicken Dinner

29 May

Occasionally I try the recipes from Whole Living or Martha Stewart Magazines… not very often because they usually lack flavor so I have to improvise and add something. Tonight I made the Sautéed Chicken with Spinach, Garlic, and Pine Nuts but I added cherry tomatoes. Mostly because I wanted more color. Here’s the recipe with my **additions/changes:

the list:

1 cup brown rice

3 tbsp evoo

4 6-oz boneless, skinless chicken breasts, pounded 1/2 inch thick (whoopsie, forgot to do this)

coarse salt

2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

a handful of cherry/grape tomatoes sliced in half with salt and pepper on them, salt and pepper from a grinder

pinch red pepper flakes (hmmm… didn’t see that part either, I just sprinkled them in there)

1 bunch spinach, trimmed and rinsed (10 oz)

pine nuts and fresh goat cheese

1/2 lemon

make it:

Cook the rice however you make your brown rice. I am not a good rice maker so I cheat and use the frozen variety from Trader Joes. If you’re like me save this moment for after your chicken have finished cooking.

Heat 1 Tbsp (I eyeballed it but WL says 1 Tbsp) oil in a large sauté pan over med-high heat. Season chicken with salt & **pepper** and sauté in batches (I was able to get all my little chicken breasts in the pan), adding another Tbsp of oil, until golden brown and cooked through, about 3 minutes per side. Set aside.

Add remaining Tbsp of oil, garlic, tomatoes, and pepper flakes to pan. Cook spinach in batches, stirring, until just wilted, about 2 minutes. Season with salt  **and pepper**.

To serve, top chicken with spinach and tomatoes with pine nuts and dollops of goat cheese. Squeeze with lemon and server with rice.

the verdict:

no left overs: the adults loved it as did the 6-year old. the 4-year old liked the spinach but not the tomatoes and the 3-year old loved the chicken and rice. go figure.

Leave a Reply

