Sunday Night Fav: Carne Asada Pizza

22 Apr

I don’t cook (not to be confused with baking).  But I was smart enough to marry someone who does.  I might have starved by now otherwise.

Since I’m soooo pregnant (read: uncomfortable), tonight’s dinner was mama’s choice.  Carne Asada Pizza it is!  I am told this is not a cheap pizza, but it cooks up pretty quickly and tastes so fresh and yummy I just can’t resist it.

For the Cilantro Pesto:
2 cups packed of cilantro leaves
3 tblspns pine nuts
1/2 cup olive oil
3 cloves diced garlic
Process in a food processer until smooth
Spoon in 1/2 cup of grated parmesean cheese and mix
 

In the meantime, chop and cook 1/2 – 3/4 lbs. marinated carne asada (skirt steak).  Cover a prepared pizza crust (we use Boboli) with cilantro pesto.  Top that with 1 – 1  1/4 cup of mozzerella cheese (depending on the size of the crust you’re using). Bake per crust directions, a mere 8 minutes over here.  Remove from oven, top with prepared meat and put back in oven for approximately 2 more minutes.  Dollop with your favorite salsa and enjoy!

We put the salsa on the side so the kiddo’s don’t have to add it since they aren’t accustomed to the heat of dad’s famous salsa yet.

Maybe next time we should make two…and by we I mean he.  I’m already wishing there were left overs for lunch tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Sunday Night Fav: Carne Asada Pizza”

  1. Holly April 23, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    I am inviting myself over the next time he makes this!

Leave a Reply

