Rolo Cookies

14 Apr

I realized awhile ago that I didn’t actually own a cookie jar.  It seemed strange that someone who loves to bake so much wouldn’t own a staple as simple as a cookie jar.  A kind friend pointed out that perhaps its because my cookies are so good that they don’t stick around long enough to make it to a jar.  I’d love to say that was the case…

My Grandmother was generous enough to give me one recently.  Its a glass jar with “Mother’s Cookies” imprinted on it.  Classic.

So this rainy spring day, since we’re stuck inside I thought I’d do my best to fill my new jar…

These cookies are probably some of the simplest I’ve ever made…and the tastiest.

You’ll need:
1 box of devil’s food cake mix (I used Pilsbury brand because it includes pudding in the mix)
2 eggs
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 bag of Rolos (you’ll need approximately 36, so feel free to taste test)
 

Mix everything but the Rolos.  You’ll want to use a scooper for this one so that the cookies are the same size and cook consistently.  Scoop some of dough and press a Rolo into the center.  Gently fold the excess dough over the top and then roll it into a ball (like play dough).  They bake quickly. My oven got the job done in about 8 minutes set at 350 degrees.  Let them rest for a few minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack, or they will break.

Once cooled the centers will still be very moist and the caramel chewy and delicious!

My hubby, who isn’t as fond of the sweets as I am, loved these.  Of course the kids couldn’t keep their hands off them either.  And I may have had a few myself…

Leave a Reply

