March Madness

22 Mar

A few great things about March: The time change, it’s officially Spring, St Patrick’s Day, my wedding anniversary and March Madness! For those of you not familiar, you must not watch ESPN! The “madness” is about college basketball, specifically the road to the Final Four and ultimately the National Championship. I filled in my bracket this year and was super excited to start off with so many wins! My bracket is somewhat busted, but some of my picks are still going strong. This year’s Final Four takes place in New Orleans and to get in the spirit, I decided to make some beignets.

.

Beignets are delicious little bites of deep-fried goodness, similar to a doughnut. This was my first attempt at making these and they were delicious. I’m ashamed to say, I ate like half of that pile!

I mixed the dough, you can find a great recipe from Paula Deen here, and rolled it out to 1/8″ thickness. The dough is really sticky so use lots of flour during the roll process. I used a pizza cutter and made little 2 1/4″ squares.

The next step is the frying. I heated up my oil to 370 and dropped in a few squares at a time. The first round came out great and my last batch I had the mistake of adding one to many to the oil and the oil temp dropped. That batch didn’t come out as puffy as I would have liked.

I removed them from the oil when they became a nice golden color. Next, I liberally sprinkled them powdered sugar as they were still hot.

These little treats are great with coffee! I am going to be making these again for Mother’s Day Brunch!

One Response to “March Madness”

  1. Yvonne March 27, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    Ooh I want some for my b-day!!!

Leave a Reply

