The Proof is in the Pudding

25 Feb

I don’t think I had had pudding since I was a child until I was in the hospital delivering my first son.  In the middle of the night the snacks available at the hospital were limited. Two things that were available each night were pudding and graham crackers.  Since then I’ve regularly enjoyed pudding again.  It’s really quite easy, especially when you convince yourself that as a busy mom, it’s completely acceptable to take all the short cuts you can.  So I buy the little Jell-O boxes and mix up the instant stuff.  Easy squeezy snack time!

While pudding may be a regular at home, it’s not that often that I see it out a restaurant (it’s also not that often that I make it out to a restaurant).  But there is a small local joint, Blue Ribbon Artisan Pizzeria, in Encinitas that serves up a delicious Butterscotch Pudding.  In fact, the Butterscotch Pudding is the only dessert that they offer, and frankly its the only one they need!  Its to die for!

Tonight, we were invited to dinner at a friend’s home and, as is often the case, I offered to bring dessert.  So I whipped up (literally) my cheater version of the Blue Ribbon Pizzeria Butterscotch Pudding.

First I made a few boxes Jello-O Butterscotch Pudding and poured them into glass jam jars.   Place them in the fridge to chill.

While that is chillin’ make some whipped cream (or you can just buy some if you’re really in a hurry).

Here’s an easy go-to sweetened vanilla whipped cream:

2 Cups Heavy Whipping Cream
6 Tbsp Powdered Sugar
2 Tsp Vanilla
 
Chill your bowl and whisk attachment.  Beat all ingredients until soft peaks form.  Poof!  You’re done!
 

Since I was packing these babies up to enjoy later, I put the whipped cream in a container and brought that with my 12 jam jars of pudding, store-bought caramel sauce and some sea salt to dinner.  When it was time to serve dessert, I opened the jars and poured a layer of caramel sauce, sprinkled a pinch of sea salt and topped it all with a nice dollop of whipped cream.

The only complaint about this dessert?  It was rich!  I’ll take that any day of the week!  Lets face it, I’m not eating dessert cause I’m on a diet!  The salted caramel gives this dessert that something extra and serving it in small jam jars is just plain cute!  Plus, they travel well!

Sweet Travels and Easy Dinner Parties for All!

2 Responses to “The Proof is in the Pudding”

  1. Holly February 28, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    These were so good! Last night I was kind of wishing I didn’t send the extras home with you…

    • whoopiecookie February 29, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

      Thanks Holly! I’ve actually been craving those tacos…I love nearly anything from the crockpot!

Leave a Reply

