Cheers!

24 Feb

Are you looking forward to St. Paddy’s Day?  I am!  We’ll be celebrating at a FUNdraiser complete with food, drinks, Irish dancing and a beer pong tournament!

I am on the decorating committee for this fundraiser and have been tasked with centerpieces for the tables.  Inspired by this beer mug bouquet available at 1-800-flowers, I created my own on the cheap.

The pitcher is plastic and a 99 Cents Only Store find.  The gel stuff I dyed yellow with regular old food coloring (a little goes along way with both the gel beads and the food coloring).  And carnations are one of the cheapest flowers available.  This only cost a few dollars total!

For our latest St. Paddy’s Day Party planning meeting I brought along some “food for thought” to inspire the troops.  These Celtic Knot cookies are perfect for any St. Patrick’s Day party, or just your morning coffee!  If you attempt these cookies, take heed…chilling the dough is NECESSARY!  I got antsy and tried to skip that step and it was a disaster!  Cooling the pans in between batches helps too.  You’ll have to channel your 6-year-old self and go back to the days when you were an expert with play dough.  Heather’s tutorial is makes it really easy to follow, but I found that it took some practice to get it right.  My first few were….in a word…bad!  I just buried those on the bottom of the batch.  Shhhh…don’t tell!

Be sure to check back as we get closer to the celebration for more great party ideas!

Erin Go Bragh!

3 Responses to “Cheers!”

  1. Jeanette February 25, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    I love the centerpiece, great idea
    and the cookies look yummy, can’t wait
    To try them 🙂

  2. Vickie February 27, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

    Yvette, you are so uber-talented!!!!! I love, love, love the beer mug center pieces, just adorable! How are you feeling today? Your mom says the baby is growing! Hope all is well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Paddy Cakes | whoopie cookie - March 7, 2013

    […] up to last year’s event I made hats, cookies, a clever disguise, and the centerpieces for the event […]

Leave a Reply

