Peas Please

25 Jan

I recently purchased the cookbook by Julia Child, “Mastering the Art of French Cooking.” I can’t believe how much information is in this one cookbook! I think of it more as an encyclopedia of French cooking.

I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to try first so I decided to go blind-folded. Okay, I wasn’t really blind folded! I took the book in hand and randomly opened it up. I decided that I would make whatever was on that page, thankfully I did not land on aspics!

There are 6 pages dedicated to peas in “Mastering the Art of French Cooking.”  I was lucky enough to have turned to the canned peas page. I was surprised to see that Julia approved of canned peas at all! I’d like to think that she put this in here as a last resort recipe. A recipe that you could use that will make canned peas taste pretty darn good!

The recipe was simple and fast which I love! I sautéed a minced shallot in butter and then added the peas. Next, I seasoned them with salt and pepper. After adding a small amount of mushroom broth, I cover the peas to heat them up. To reduce the liquid more, I uncovered the peas and turned the heat up high so that the liquid boils and evaporates. That was it! I never had can peas that tasted so good!

Leave a Reply

