Calavasa

13 Oct

Remember Cookie Magazine? When I had my first kid Cookie and Milk were my two ultimate favorite magazines. Vanity Faire was put on hold and Martha Stewart took third. Milk was all about the beautiful photography and Euro kid fashions but Cookie had great articles for the “cool mom” as well as all that other baby/kid stuff that I was learning to deal with.

One of my favorite parts of the magazine was one-page for food. It had an image at the center like ground turkey then around it said something like, “if you have this, then you make that” with images of easy ingredients that you would most likely have in your pantry or fridge.

Well, last night as I was making a recipe my grandma used to whip up for us grandkids I thought of that. I think we should do something similar on the Whoopie Cookie (every once in awhile). So, if you have this:

Then let’s make my grandma’s calavasa (I think that might be my grandma’s Spanish slang for zucchini):

shopping list:

2 – 3 zucchinis (cut in half then sliced or sliced)

1 can of diced tomatoes, drained

1 can of corn, drained

1 small onion, diced

1 clove of garlic, minced or sliced

2 or more cups of monterey jack cheese, shredded

olive oil

preparation:

Add some olive oil in a medium heat skillet, saute onion and garlic until the onion is transparent

toss in zucchini (practice saying calavasa like your grandma)

wait a bit (this comes from Yvette’s instructions, I use this “wait” time to drain the can of tomatoes and corn)

toss in drained tomatoes and corn

wait for the calavasa to get soft…

toss in cheese and combine until cheese is melted.

Enjoy…

I was talking to Yvette about posting this recipe online and she had a great idea. She noted if you add vegetable soup and some tortilla chips you have tortilla soup. One of us will have to explore this and get back to you all.

2 Responses to “Calavasa”

  1. whoopiecookie October 13, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    I love this recipe for Friday’s during Lent! ~Yvette

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Update: Calavasa « whoopie cookie - November 10, 2011

    […] that I only posted photos of the zucchini and not some during and finished product photos from my calavasa blog. Moment of laziness… so here’s what happens while making the ooey gooey goodness […]

Leave a Reply

