The Ugly Pumpkin

12 Oct

One Sunday afternoon, the kids and I took a field trip to the bookstore. I so much rather spoil them at a bookstore rather than the toy store. I love that the kids enjoy books and reading!  Reading is one of my favorite things to do in my spare time. Anyways, now that it’s October, the bookstore had lots of great Halloween books out and The Ugly Pumpkin caught our attention. This story was so adorable and heart-warming, we recommend it for your library.

Later at the grocery store, all the pumpkins and other winter squash were displayed and the Ugly Pumpkin had inspired me to try something different. I found a great butternut squash, on sale, and thought I’d take a stab at it. I researched online different recipes and they all looked so complex. Butternut squash risotto, stuffed butternut squash, roasted chicken with butternut squash and potatoes, all sounded spectacular and complicated. I need something easy, let’s get back to basics! I decided to just simply roast the squash in the oven.

First, I cut the squash in half-length wise and spooned out the seeds. I squished the two halves into a 9×13 glass baking pan and added 1/4″ to 1/2″ of water at the bottom.

I rubbed the tops of the squash with butter then sprinkled on salt, pepper and brown sugar. I also cut small pads of butter for melting and left those on top. Once finished, I stuck them in the pre-heated 400 degree oven and waited. The roasting takes the longest time, at least an hour, but it depends on the size of the squash.

When finished, I let them cool for a few minutes then I carefully scraped the flesh out. I only scooped out one half and saved the second half to make a small batch of soup! Sometimes, the basics are all you need to have a great dish!

Leave a Reply

