Dip Dyed

21 Sep

There are a lot of great cupcake wrappers out there.  Sometimes we just need something custom.  Did you know that you can dye plain white cupcake wrappers?

I purchased plain white cupcake wrappers from my local grocery store, which by the way are often times cheaper since they are in fact plain.  In two bowls I mixed some water with liquid food coloring drops in the colors of my choice.

Then, one at a time, I dipped the wrappers in the water.  I let them sit for a minute to soak up the color.  The longer you leave them in the more color they’ll pick up.

I let them dry on a wire rack with a paper towel underneath to catch any drips.

I let mine dry overnight, but they felt pretty close to dry after just a couple of hours.  It creates a nice ombre effect as well since the very bottoms of the wrappers never touched the color.

One Response to “Dip Dyed”

  1. summer September 27, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    i love these images… it’s like cupcake paper art. i heart this post! (your no. 1 cousin!)

Leave a Reply

