Lemon Blueberry Buttercream

19 Sep

We brought another little one into our club….

For the party following the Baptism I was in charge of baked goods.  Again, I went with a small cake and a dozen cupcakes (much like I did for this Baptismal celebration).   Since this was for a little boy, I naturally leaned towards working the color blue in.  Actually, I used several shades of blue!

I found a Lemon Blueberry Buttercream here.   I had to add a little bit of blue food coloring to make it more blue to work with my color scheme, but flavor-wise, it was awesome!  Everyone loved it!  Well…except my husband, but he doesn’t count because he didn’t like it only because it has lemon in it.  He finds lemon flavor to be “a punch in the face.”

I painstakingly pulled rock candy (available here)  off the sticks and used them to create an ombre effect on the sides of the cake.  I also placed a single rock atop each cupcake.

Leave a Reply

