Vintage Love

7 Sep

The big day is almost here! The wedding is on Saturday and I spent this past weekend working on a dress to wear. I was originally going to tackle a cute Cynthia Rowley pattern.. last minute I changed my mind because I found some inspiration- Mad Men. I’ve been getting my Mad Men fix via Netflix. I love everything about this show, the story, the fashion, the set decor… all of it! I found this pattern from Vintage Vogue and couldn’t resist. I know it’s not a style from the 60’s… but I fell in love.

I found this great crepe fabric at my local Joann’s for 30% off. I have lately had this obsession with dark blue ever since I bought this cute maxi dress from Forever 21 about 6 months back. I think this color is my new black! I also selected this color because I knew it would look great with a vintage coat that I plan on wearing as well. I’ll post pictures from the wedding next week.

I was a little worried about making this dress. I have heard that Vintage patterns can be hard to make since they are so tailored. I am very happy with how the dress turned out. I did have to take in the sides to make it more fitted, but that turned out to be an easy alteration. I can’t wait to wear my new dress and even more excited to see my friend get married!

6 Responses to “Vintage Love”

  1. Jeanette September 7, 2011 at 6:17 am #

    I love the dress Caasi, and the blue is beautiful. Looking forward to seeing the pictures. Have a good time at the wedding.

  2. Synthia September 7, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Fabulous dress, love the color! Great job Caasi!

  3. Yvonne September 7, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    Great Job Ms Caasi.. of course you must take after your aunt yvonne ! ha-ha… not!! You my dear are sooooooooo talented….Have fun at the wedding!!

  4. Dora September 7, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    The style of the dress is really nice and the color is just beautiful! Have fun at the wedding.

  5. Summer September 8, 2011 at 1:44 am #

    Wow Caas! That’s very well done! Bellissimo! Can’t wait to see you in it! Now make me something for tomorrow!!!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Birthday Suit « whoopie cookie - July 9, 2012

    […] have the time. To get my vintage fix, I sew my own from vintage patterns. My first go round, I made this Vintage Vogue pattern for my friend’s wedding last September. It’s a 1940′s style […]

Leave a Reply

