Always a Bridesmaid?

31 Aug

I’m headed to a wedding this weekend.  Instead of buying another dress, I opened my hall closet and sifted through the many bridesmaid dresses I own.  My first thought was to ombre one of the dresses, but after some research I learned that you cannot dye or bleach polyester satin.  While I do own a sewing machine and can sew a straight line, I am in every sense of the word a novice, so I wanted to avoid a total overhaul at all costs.  Why not just take the dress to a real seamstress you ask?  Well, I wanted to avoid any additional costs at all costs as well.

So…many moons ago, I was a bridesmaid in my dear friend Gaby’s wedding.  I wore this dress.

Its a perfectly lovely bridesmaid dress, but lets face it, where am I going in that dress after the wedding?  I walked down the aisle in this dress about a week after finding out I was pregnant with my eldest son.  Today, two giant baby boys later there was no way I could squeeze into this dress.  So, I started ripping at the seams.  I took the guts of the bodice out and the cut the skirt to the length that I wanted the new dress (with seam allowances).  I sewed the guts of the bodice back together, with the boning and pinned it inside what would be the new top  of the dress.  Then I carefully sewed the top seam.  So at that point I had a cape-like garment.  I don’t own a dress form and I tried having my 5 year old pin me in the dress but that didn’t work either.  Then, my dog got tangled in the cord to the sewing machine and dragged it to the ground where it broke into pieces.  I gave up at that point.  So, I moved on to make a belt…

I saw this on 100 Layer Cake and saved the scraps from the cut up dress.  I had everything on hand so it came together quickly.  I cut all my pieces and then began gathering and sewing by hand.  The effect was amazing.  I love this belt.

Rejuvenated by my belt, I took my cape to Caasi’s house.  Not only does she have a dress form, she is much more skilled than I am at sewing.  She literally looked at what I brought her and said, “oh, that’ll be easy.”

I don’t know how easy it really was, but she made it look easy!  I saved the zipper from the original dress so Caasi was able to fit the dress properly and sew the zipper in.

So, now for no additional cost I have a super cute dress to wear to this weekend’s wedding, giving new life to an old dress!

5 Responses to “Always a Bridesmaid?”

  1. Beauitiful Life of Traveling Wife August 31, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    That is crazy! I would never even think to do that. I actually hate my bridesmaids dresses so much, I leave them at the hotel I stay at because I just never like them. Now if I was crafty like you and could do that to a dress I would. how fun!

    • Yvette August 31, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

      Sometimes you don’t even have to be crafty…you just have to know someone crafty! I couldn’t have done it without dear Caasi’s help. But it looks like you are on the go go go so I can see how pinning down a sewing machine in a new city might be difficult for you!

  2. caasicopp August 31, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    The belt is so cute! I want to make these flowers and put them on EVERYTHING! Sweaters, headbands, head piece, wrist corsage… LOVE IT!

    • Yvette August 31, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

      Wrist Corsage…you’re funny!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy Squeezy Maxi « whoopie cookie - September 6, 2011

    […] working on this project, Caasi and I managed to fit in the Maxi.  It’s seriously that easy.  I got a lot […]

Leave a Reply

