Raspberry Mousse

15 Aug

I’ve never really been a huge fan of raspberries, in part because of the seeds.  But over the weekend, I had a request for vanilla cake with raspberry frosting, and that it specifically not be too sweet.  That last part was difficult for me to comply with….

I decided to go with a mousse–a little less sweet and light and fluffy.  It’s a super easy recipe and can probably be adjusted for other flavoring.

1 1/2 Cup Whipping Cream
1 1/4 Cup Raspberry Pie Filling (I found a 21 oz. can at Albertsons)
1/4 Cup Powdered Sugar
 
Strain Pie Filling in a mesh strainer.  Beat Whipping Cream and Sugar until soft peaks form.  Beat in Pie Filling just until blended.  
 

I prepared just a vanilla cake recipe to make 12 cupcakes and two 6 inch round cakes.  Once cooled, I frosted the cupcakes with the raspberry mousse and cut the cakes to make 4 layers, each filled with more of the raspberry mousse.  I used a standard buttercream frosting, tinted pink, to frost the cake.

I frosted the cake with rows and rows of ruffles.  There’s a tutorial here.

  Since this was a religious occasion, using a Wilton mold and vanilla almond bark, I made 12 white crosses to decorate the cupcakes.

But, they also look great plain!

Everyone loved how light and flavorful the raspberry mousse was.  I will definitely use this again!  For a group of people who claim they aren’t big on sweets, they did a pretty good job of demolishing these puppies!

 
5 Responses to “Raspberry Mousse”

  1. Vickie August 15, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    Yvette, you never cease to amaze me with your baking talents, I am so impressed! The raspberry cake and cupcakes look so amazing and delicious… I know who I will call when I need a cake for a special occasion!

    Cousin Vickie

    • Yvette August 15, 2011 at 10:53 am #

      I’d be happy to bake whatever you need! You can email me at Orders@CandyCoatedPantry.com!!!

      The Raspberry Mousse was super light and only slightly sweet. The wheels are turning….what else can I make with it?!

  2. sbrowner August 15, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    so beautiful yvette! busy baker bee…gotta love that honey!

    • Yvette August 15, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      Gracias! Wish I had some left over….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lemon Blueberry Buttercream « whoopie cookie - September 19, 2011

    […] charge of baked goods.  Again, I went with a small cake and a dozen cupcakes (much like I did for this Baptismal celebration).   Since this was for a little boy, I naturally leaned towards working the color blue in.  […]

Leave a Reply

