A Ride Off Into The Sunset

10 Aug

Our family took a little road trip to lovely Scottsdale, AZ recently.  It was HOT.  I’m not gonna lie it was like super crazy hot!  The thing I found most amazing was that it didn’t cool down in the evening.  It was 100° plus all day long.

I was a little worried about the little guys in that heat, since they aren’t used to such extreme weather having spent their lives to date in the fabulously moderate weather of sunny San Diego.  But I thought back to my own childhood summers spent poolside in Palm Springs, CA, and remembered that it wasn’t that bad.  One of my favorite things about Palm Springs was the cool down in the evenings.  It was still warm enough for a summer dress, but without the beat down that the desert sun can give at the height of the day.

Of course we spent a lot of time in the water.  We spent time at our friend’s pool and we also sought out more water fun at a local city sponsored aquatic center.  I would definitely recommend it.  The kids had a blast and it was only $5/person.   There is a water slide for the bigger kids (aka my husband), a zero-depth entry pool for the really little kids, interactive spray pad and water features, and (my favorite part) a 600-foot lazy river.

The aquatic center was on the small side and tame (right up my alley), but we also wanted to go BIG before heading home.  We spent our last day at Phoenix’s biggest water park, Wet ‘n’ Wild. The water park naturally costs significantly more than the city park.  It’s about $34/person for a day pass.  And don’t be fooled.  It’s basically a theme park so they get you with the churros (I’m a sucker for churros) and other theme park food.  As we arrived, I told my husband that I didn’t think I was going to make it outside in the 110º heat all day.  But it really wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.  In fact once you’re soaked, if you find yourself in the shade you might even get a little chill.  And there is plenty of shade.  There are stretched canvas shades all over the park as well as cabanas.  The bigger kids did the water slides and tube rides and we all got to hang in the wave pool and float down the lazy river.

I got a few strange looks when Scottsdale merchants realized that I left San Diego to head to Arizona in the middle of August, but we got to visit with great friends, have a ton of water fun, and spend some “quality” time in the car together.

Oh, the drive…it took us about 6 hours from San Diego.  I preferred going the way of Indio and taking the 10, which we did on the way out there.  My husband liked the ride home on the 8 better.  Note: there are plenty of Border Patrol check points on the 8 as you near the Mexican border that will slow you down just slightly.  We watched movies and marveled at the sand dunes and rock formations.  We even made up silly stories about the giant cacti and what terrible dancing partners they’d made, despite their tall and slender frames.   What do you do on long road trips to keep the kids (and some adults) busy?

It was nice to see a different landscape and get away from our weekend routine.  Arizona didn’t hurt my tan either!

Big thanks to the Stepenosky’s for being such wonderful hosts!

One Response to “A Ride Off Into The Sunset”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekender « whoopie cookie - September 2, 2011

    […] our trip to Scottsdale last month I was looking for a new purse and/or weekend bag to take with me.  I wanted a […]

Leave a Reply

