Monkey Business

2 Aug

Over the weekend, my neighbor and friend celebrated her son’s 1st birthday. I was happy to have the opportunity to make some cupcakes and cake pops for the occasion.

Avery’s party was Paul Frank themed, so monkeys in some form or another were a must!

First I made some vanilla cupcakes with milk chocolate frosting. Classic. To make the monkeys I used both regular sized Vanilla Wafers and Mini Vanilla Wafers. I had no idea that they came miniature sized, but that’s good to know for little hands…

If you chop the top off one of the regular sized wafers, you’ll get the perfect size for the monkey’s face and cut a mini in half for the ears. I used decorating icing and gel icing for the eyes, nostrils and mouth. To make the monkey a little more Paul Frank-esque (cause Julius isn’t just a regular old monkey!), I made the mouth more horizontal and the nostrils a little closer together.

The cake pops proved to be a little more difficult. I formed my cake balls into a more oval shape, using the space between my thumb and index finger. After sitting in the freezer for a few minutes, I used a little melted chocolate flavored almond bark to adhere a couple of M&Ms for the ears.

Again, I let them set in the freezer before inserting the sticks. Once the sticks had set in the freezer, I dipped the whole head in the chocolate almond bark. Be careful not to coat it too much (like I did) because you’ll lose some of your shape and they’ll look less like a head with ears and more like a wonky rectangle. Using colored candy melts I decorated the faces, letting everything set in between layers.

Finally I wrapped them in clear plastic and tied them off with some baker’s twine.

The cake pops were labor intensive. This was mostly due to the fact that there were so many steps and layers to them and you had to let everything set as you went. But for a themed party, these are very cute and are sure to be a hit!

Happy Birthday Avery!

Leave a Reply

