Henry’s Cinnamon Roll Cupcakes

20 Jul

I am the unofficial party planning committee in my office.  So, I will typically bake something for each birthday, holiday or going-away party.  Tomorrow we will wish my co-worker, Dan, good luck with Law School.  I asked if he had any “last requests” and his only demand was cream cheese frosting.

I had recently made carrot cake cupcakes (seen here) and pumpkin is not really in season so I was on the hunt for some other pairing for cream cheese frosting.  I came across this recipe from Confessions of a Cookbook Queen.  I love cheater recipes like this that have a box cake mix as the base.  It was so easy and SOOOO YUMMY!!!

Since these cupcakes are in honor of Dan’s departure I decided to add a personal touch.  I topped some of the cupcakes with chocolate Scotty dogs!

I have to say that they are so cute and a dead ringer for Dan’s dog, Henry.

To make the dogs I just melted chocolate almond bark and poured it out onto a cookie sheet covered in wax paper.  I let it set in the frig for about 4 minutes (it was a pretty thin layer) and then pulled it out and with a metal cookie cutter pressed lots of little Henry’s into the chocolate before returning it to the frig to completely set.  I broke a few of them trying to get them up off the wax paper.  It proved to be tricky.  But I was able to salvage enough so that everyone in the office can have a little Henry for an afternoon snack.

Good luck to Dan, Zoe and Henry as they embark on a new adventure!

One Response to “Henry’s Cinnamon Roll Cupcakes”

  1. Dan Fishman July 20, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    I love it! Thanks for the well wishes. Your cupcakes were almost as cute as the real Henry, which is bordering on impossible. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

