Strawberries & Cream Cupcakes

17 Jul

Let me start by saying that these cupcakes were a disaster.  I had high hopes of a brilliant two-toned frosting job.  Sadly, instead I made a HUGE mess and wasted a lot of yummy strawberry glaze.

I scoured the interweb to figure out how to do this two-tone frosting thing.  I settled on wrapping each frosting separately in plastic wrap before placing both in the piping bag (in my case a Ziploc bag).  I had two problems.  First, the strawberry glaze wouldn’t come out.  So, I tugged on the plastic wrap to try to loosen it up.  Well, I unleashed all the strawberry glaze and no vanilla frosting.  Sticky Sticky Disaster!

Once I was able to turn off the strawberry glaze fountain, I found that I now had a second problem.  The vanilla frosting was not coming out because its plastic wrap had clogged up my tip.  I gave up and pulled all the plastic wrap out.  By that point the ratio of frosting to glaze was so unruly that I had to just scoop up what I could and frost them with a butter knife.

If I had to do it all again, I would not mess with the plastic wrap.  Plastic wrap and I have never been good friends…the edges always stick to each other and I often tear it…I’ve moved on from the plastic wrap.  I would simply spoon a small amount of the strawberry glaze onto the insides of the piping bag followed by the vanilla frosting and then maybe some more glaze.  I might not get a uniform look, but I was going for light touches of the strawberry glaze anyways.  It sets pretty quick, so if you can get it in place at all you’re golden!

In any event, if you want to take a stab at it I used standard strawberry flavored cupcakes and vanilla frosting.  The strawberry glaze is 1/3 cup frozen strawberries (thawed) and 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar.  Simply puree the strawberries and then pour the liquid into a bowl with your powdered sugar and stir until its well blended and smooth.

The coloring on these cupcakes really lend themselves well to playing with different camera filters.  They look so delicate and sweet (by the way, they are SUPER SWEET).

I took this picture looking down on a baker’s dozen of them.  I think it looks like a blooming flower.  I tend to kill most flowers and plants (black thumb), but this is my kind of flower!

Or, as my husband pointed out, this is my kind of flour.

One Response to “Strawberries & Cream Cupcakes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Covered Goodness « whoopie cookie - July 18, 2011

    […] In case you didn’t get your strawberry fix yesterday… […]

Leave a Reply

