Summer Time Cupcakes

12 Jul

We had a sunshine filled weekend. We hosted a summer time BBQ and I wanted to make something that tasted like summer and looked the part too. 

I made plain old white cupcakes with a lemon frosting.  But what really made these little cakes special was the “lemon wedge” placed on top. 

I mixed white almond bark with a few of Wilton’s yellow melting candies to get the pale yellow for my “lemons.”  I piped semicircles on wax paper and let them set in the frig.  Once hardened I went back and piped white almond bark to make the sections of the lemon wedge.

Once the white sections were set I melted some of the yellow candies and dipped the rounded edges in yellow then yellow sugar crystals. 

Once I had all my cupcakes frosted, each was topped with a single lemon wedge. 

They were the perfect summer time dessert!  You can’t help but smile at these cheerful treats!

4 Responses to “Summer Time Cupcakes”

  1. Erin July 12, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    Oh boy, your adorable son did a good job making me drool when he was describing these, and the photos just made me drool again…they look delish!

  2. summer July 12, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    i taste a book…

  3. Jenny July 14, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    Still love this! I continue to be amazed with you and your cousins(?) posts. This is awesome. So much respect for the stay at home mom who is following her dream. Congrats!

    • whoopiecookie July 20, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

      Thanks Jenny! Fortunately (unfortunately) we are all working outside the home right now. Summer gets to do some of her work from home, but all of our projects and baked goods are just something we do on the side! Keep your comments coming! We love to hear back from readers!

Leave a comment