Father’s Day Cake Pops

19 Jun

Today we celebrated Father’s Day with a neighborhood pot luck. As always, I volunteered for dessert duty. Today I had two contributions.

First, I added some necktie cupcake toppers to left over cupcakes from yesterday’s birthday festivities. Thank you Erin Comstock-Thrasher for making 72 cupcakes! They were delish even a day later.

In addition, I wanted to make some kind of cupcake or cake pop (something that wouldn’t require a plate and fork to eat) that reflected the day’s celebration.  I decided on cake pops.

To make these cake pops I simply shaped them into a sort of cone shape instead of balls.  But first, as my cake cooled, I made the trophy handles by piping melting candy into the appropriate shape onto a piece of wax paper.  I placed them in the refrigerator to set.  Then, I took an unmelted melting candy and burrowed a hole in the center with a drinking straw as the base of the trophy.   I slide the base onto the stick just before dipping it into the melting candy and placing it into the cake cone.  After they set in the freezer for a minute or two, I dipped them in the yellow melting candy.  As soon as they were fully coated, I VERY CAREFULLY, lifted a handle from my wax paper and gently attached it to the side.  Once they were all completely set, I went back with white melting candy to write “#1 Dad.”  I initially purchased a package of Wilton’s Food Writers, but they just didn’t work on the candy coating.  Or, I just couldn’t figure out how to work them, but it shouldn’t have been complicated, it’s a pen!  At any rate, I went with the melting candy instead.

My husband isn’t a huge fan of sweets, but I made these with dulce de leche (like these) at his request.  He loved them!

I think all the kids liked them too!

Happy Father’s Day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

