Cake of the Month- Almond Caramel Torte

8 Jun

For Yvette’s birthday, I asked her what she wanted… she replied “Cake”. If you remember, Cake was also the theme of Yvette’s birthday party, “Let them eat cake!” So my present to her… Cake of the Month!

A gift was born! I love to bake, this gives me a great excuse to try new recipes and cake making techniques.

For the first cake in the 12 month installment, I made an Almond Caramel Torte. It was completely from scratch. I made the “cake” part first. It required lots of eggs (separated and whipped), graham crackers (crumbled fine), almonds (also crumbled fine), baking powder, vanilla.. and probably a few more ingredients I can’t remember without the recipe. While baking I made a simple caramel sauce for drizzle and for the filling. The inside filling was a stick of cream cheese whipped with a 1/2 cup of caramel sauce, something I’d like to incorporate in other recipes because it was delicious. Lastly, I made a light, sweet whipped cream frosting for the outside and drizzled with the caramel sauce.

It was fun trying a new recipe. I was a little nervous because I’m the type to only cook recipes that I can see a picture of. Are you like that? or is it just me?

Any suggestions for next month’s cake?

3 Responses to “Cake of the Month- Almond Caramel Torte”

  1. whoopiecookie June 8, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    The torte was awesome!!!! Thank you so much! By the way, this is the best present ever! I may be crazy overweight by the end, but oh what a year it will be! ~Yvette

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Red Velvet Cake of the Month « whoopie cookie - July 22, 2011

    […] July. You know what that means! A new cake! Last month Caasi made me this cake as the first installment in the cake of the month club (aka the best birthday present […]

  2. Cake of the Month – Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake « whoopie cookie - August 30, 2011

    […] August cake has arrived!  Caasi gave me this cake for June and this one for July.  I am pleased to introduce you to you August:  a Chocolate Chip Bundt […]

Leave a Reply

