Fascination

10 May

I live in Southern California. And in Southern California we are pretty laid back. Most days I don my favorite pair of jeans and flip-flops and yes on occasion I say “dude.” So when I have the opportunity to attend an event that can be construed as even slightly formal I like to go all out!

This weekend when I attend the English Garden Tea at the Heritage House I will do so in style.

English women often where hats at formal events and fascinators have made a come back as well. Recently at the Royal wedding I saw a couple of princesses who looked like they had raided a closet backstage at Lady Gaga’s last concert.

Using this tutorial as a general guide, we created our own fascinators for this weekend’s tea.

20110510-104825.jpg

20110510-104910.jpg

20110510-104946.jpg

20110510-105029.jpg

20110510-111459.jpg

We might look like little girls playing dress up at a pretend tea party, but who couldn’t use a fun trip back to their five year old self?!

4 Responses to “Fascination”

  1. summer May 11, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    seriously my eyes are poppin!

  2. Yvonne May 14, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    ooh i must find a hair peice too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Heritage House Tea « whoopie cookie - May 18, 2011

    […] setting up for the Tea.  We of course took that time to take pictures of ourselves with our fascinators […]

  2. St. Paddy’s Hats « whoopie cookie - March 16, 2012

    […] These are tiny little hats (and I’m known for having an oversized cranium) so I’ll wear mine more akin to a fascinator. […]

Leave a Reply

