Finishing Touches on the Cheap

4 May

I have been finishing up a few projects on a room that is very important to me….my bedroom.

We are a pretty busy bunch and after a long day at work, capped off with playtime with the kiddos, my bedroom has to be a sanctuary.  I want it to feel fresh and clean, but warm and inviting as well, and despite all the boys in this house, a little girly too.

What says girly more than a chandelier?  I searched the blog-o-sphere for the latest and greatest chandeliers and found this one from West Elm.  I love West Elm, as evidenced by my duvet cover, but I can’t always afford all the loveliness.  Well luckily for me Design Sponge and Freshly Picked were there to turn my frown upside down. Not only can I have the loveliness, but I can have it for little more than the cost of a couple of rolls of wax paper from my local grocery store.

It took me about 5 days, but keep in mind that I work outside my home about 10 hours each day.  I ironed the wax paper and cut out the circles while watching TV in the evenings.  And if I did my math correctly (and I may not have…I have a degree in English for a reason), I used approximately 1,300 wax paper circles.  In total I spent about $12.00 on the hanging plant frame, white spray paint, and wax paper.  All this was a small price to pay for the end result.

I just love the easy femininity that it brings to my room.  And in a home filled with little army guys, Legos and bug collections, don’t I deserve a little femininity?!  I think you do too!

4 Responses to “Finishing Touches on the Cheap”

  1. Carrie Christiansen May 4, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    That looks fantastic Yvette! I am so impressed!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Finishing Touches on the Cheap-Part 2 « whoopie cookie - May 20, 2011

    […] what could be considered a blank slate or a nightmare–an empty corner!  Having finished off the focal point of the room I didn’t want to fill the corner with something that might compete but to leave it sad and […]

  2. A Cookie Within A Cookie « whoopie cookie - June 28, 2011

    […] my previous experience working with wax paper here, I thought why not make a baggy out of it?  The wax paper is food safe and has a similar look to […]

  3. $1 Chandelier « whoopie cookie - April 13, 2012

    […] one of my many recent trips to the dollar store I found a hanging plant basket like the one I used here.  I know that other retailers charge more than a dollar for them so I snagged it, figuring that […]

Leave a Reply

