Inside the Box

3 May

Moms Day is approaching.

We all know that moms love the shiny stuff, but after years of giving your mama some much deserved jewelry, consider a box.   More specifically, consider a jewelry box!

I found that most of the beautiful (and modern….don’t want to age our mothers do we?) jewelry boxes are a little steep.  The less expensive boxes look, well, cheap.  So I whipped up a small jewelry box for about $15 and I couldn’t be happier with it.

First I had to procure the perfect box.  Clean and modern was what I was searching for.  My local Home Goods store had a ton of boxes.

*Note: Be careful of those boxes.  Always open them!  The are often times a box within a box within a box.  You could accidentally end up at the counter with not one box but three!

So how do you turn an empty box into one that is full?

I went to my trusty Michael’s  and purchased some craft plywood (found near the other raw wood items) for a few dollars.  I simply measured and cut the wood to make dividers.  You can make as many or as little spaces that you like depending on the jewelry collection you’ll be housing.

Of course the raw wood was not a good look.  So I cut a piece of fabric that I had on hand and loosely draped it inside the box, pressing it into the individual spaces.  Leaving about an inch all the way around, I trimmed any excess.  Then, starting with the back side, I flipped the fabric up and began stapling the under side to the inside of the box.  I continued around the inside of the box in this way until I got to the fourth side (you’ll want to leave the front of the box for last).  That side will have to be stapled on the outside of the fabric, but it is okay because you won’t really see it unless you stick your head entirely inside the box.

And that’s it.

Love the box and now it  works for mom.

Leave a Reply

