Terrific Tile

27 Apr

I’ve been getting a lot of questions about tile lately. I know that sounds extremely random to you, but I am a Certified Kitchen Designer…I get random questions about tile, cabinets, appliances and more everyday. I decided it might be a good idea to share my thoughts and tips on design every once in a while.

Tile can be an excellent way to add design and style to a bathroom or kitchen. It’s also a great opportunity to bring some color and/or texture to the party. Today, I thought I’d share kitchen backsplash ideas.

There are tons of different tiles on the market today. Tile has a wide price range and you can easily fall in love with a very expensive tile. I come across this problem quite often. I have a great tip though… By using an inexpensive field tile and creating a border or decorative inserts with the tile you love, you can save money, add some style and interest to your space! These are some examples of kitchen backsplashes I designed…

It’s important to plan your backsplash design. In cases where you add a border or other decorative trim, make sure that your outlets, switches and the covers will not interfere with your design. The same goes for a planned equal layout of decorative insert tiles, or a “mural” design.

Lastly, backsplash field tile should be no larger than a 6×6 tile. Remember that a standard backsplash, from countertop to bottom of the wall cabinets, is typically 18″ high and any tile larger than a 6×6 will require many cuts and can complicate a design if you chose to add inserts or borders. Personally, 4×4 tiles are a perfect size.

One Response to “Terrific Tile”

  1. Tile Tramp May 3, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    Beautiful sketches…I’m always a sucker for a nice mosaic or insert pattern 🙂

Leave a Reply

