Egg-cellent Leftovers

22 Apr

With Easter only days away, I’m already contemplating what to do with all the dyed, hard boiled eggs we will have. Of course coloring eggs is a must each Easter because the kids love it so much…but what do I do once the Easter bunny leaves them?

There are the tried and true recipes we can all fall back on. I’m sure each of us has our own version of deviled eggs, egg salad for sandwiches and our favorite homemade potato salad. All of these are great ways to use up the leftover colored eggs. I was thinking of something different…

My husband really likes what he calls a BLAT or what everyone else calls them, a BLTA. A delicious and simple bacon, lettuce, tomato and avocado sandwich. I was thinking of trying a BELT sandwich. I will use my hard boiled eggs, sliced, with tomato, lettuce and bacon on toasted whole grain bread. This is a great option to have for lunch on Monday or any day following Easter Sunday!

If breakfast is more your thing, try sliced hard boiled eggs with a toasted English muffin, bacon, and cheese a la McDonald’s.

Leave a Reply

