Hallmark Who?

13 Apr

In my family its sacrilegious to speak ill of Hallmark.  My mom is the queen of Hallmark.  She literally goes to Hallmark once a month and purchases cards for every event, birthday and anniversary scheduled for that month.  I regularly receive thoughtful cards for my birthday, wedding anniversary, Easter, Valentine’s Day, Halloween…and every Veteran’s Day my husband receives a tasteful thank you for serving his country. 

I love receiving those Hallmark cards.  

Unfortunately, I wasn’t born with the Hallmark gene.  I don’t have my mother’s discipline.   But, my inability to plan ahead and my compulsion to buy every craft product known to man occasionally come together to redeem me. 

This week one of my son’s teachers is celebrating a birthday.  So I put my newly organized craft closet to work. 

I layered a couple of pieces of cardstock and placed foam tape between them for a shadowed effect.  I picked out a cute birthday saying from one of my Cricut cartridges, but placing the cutout on the front of the card was a little plain.   I wanted some more dimension.  I happened to have embossing powder in a coordinating color, but embossing powder is typically used with stamps.  For my purposes I ran my plain paper through the Cricut, but before removing my image I took a stamping ink paid and  blotted it all over my cutout.  Then I used the embossing powder according to the package instructions.  Once it had all melted together, I peeled the image up.  It worked great!

For a little added detail I tied some baker’s twine around the crease of the card.  And since the card is from a 5-year-old I let him fill in the written sentiment on the inside.

   

I think my son’s teacher will appreciate the fact that the card was handmade.  I definitely plan to make more cards.  I don’t think I’ll ever be able to keep up with my mom.  I can only hope to exemplify the same thoughtfulness that she does. 

 

Happy Birthday Mrs. Romero!

4 Responses to “Hallmark Who?”

  1. Holly April 13, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    What a cool card! I really love the Halmark store but usually end up spending at least $50 every time I enter one. I love snail mail too…you think you could pass my bday along to your mom?

  2. Mom April 14, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    What a beautiful card, I think Ms Romero is a lucky teacher…homemade cards are far better than those purchased…can’t wait to see my Mother’s Day card 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bridal Shower Bliss « whoopie cookie - July 10, 2011

    […] all things gift wrap related… we knock it out of the park! We have done gift tags, gift wrap, greeting cards and more. I save all bags, cards, bows and ribbon… I have not purchased gift wrapping […]

Leave a Reply

