Dulce De Leche Cake

9 Apr

This week I was able to catch up with my friend Holly from Eat and Run San Diego.  Mr. Whoopie Cookie made a yummy soup and Holly prepped three (yes, three!) different guacamoles.  I put my efforts into dessert.  Since these were somewhat last-minute plans, I did not have to time to make anything too elaborate.  I knew that I had yellow cake mix on hand and decided to find a way to doctor that up.

How do you doctor up a plain old yellow cake?  Frosting!  Rich Frosting!

I made a Dulce De Leche Frosting.  Here’s the scoop:

1 Can (13.4 oz) Dulce De Leche
1 8oz container of cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup whipping cream

Using a mixer, beat the Dulce De Leche and cream cheese until it is smooth.  Add the whipping cream and continue to beat until peaks start to form.  It’s that easy.  Once you frost your cake, keep it in the fridge until you’re ready to serve.

A note on the canned dulce de leche…It took going to three different stores to find the right one.  If you do not have canned dulce de leche available you can fairly easily make it yourself.  I simply did not have the time to do so.  I finally found it at Vons.  Once I confirmed its existence I bought 3 cans just in case it’s difficult to find in the future!

I served this cake with vanilla ice cream.  It was sweet and very rich.  I would definitely make this again…and I’m happy knowing I can since I bought extra dulce de leche!

 

2 Responses to “Dulce De Leche Cake”

  1. Bethea April 9, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    There is a recipe for this in one of my books and I’ve always been curious about trying it. Your picture makes it look really delicious.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dulce De Leche Cake Pops « whoopie cookie - May 23, 2011

    […] introduced me to cake pops here.  And since I had extra ingredients to make this cake, I decided to take a stab at Dulce de Leche Cake […]

Leave a Reply

