Re-Style File #2

15 Mar

The Original

In the spirit of Spring, I have dug this lovely garment from my closet to “re-style”. It was given to me a while back, but was too large for me to wear. I love the fabric and the color… most of all, I didn’t want it to go to waste hiding in the depths of my closet.

Step 1- Adjust to fit

My first step was to adjust the fit. There are many ways to do this. The correct way, carefully seam rip the sleeves, pin and mark the sides from my dress form.. etc, etc. I chose the lazy/fast way… with two kids, I take all the short cuts I can get! I laid out the top on a flat surface and found a shirt with the same stretch that fits well to lay on top. I marked the the top with a 5/8″ seam allowance in mind. I grabbed the scissors, cut the sides and it that was it! I pinned and sewed the new side seams and the arm holes.

With the sleeves, I opened them up and cut them into strips. I basted the strips and gathered the seams to create different sized ruffles. You can also zig zag stitch the sides of the ruffle strips to minimize fraying of the fabric. I chose not to do this because I wanted the ruffles to be soft and organic while shaping. I pinned the ruffles to the top while on the dress form. After I found the layout I wanted, I carefully removed the top and hand stitched the ruffles into place. This part took the longest, but well worth it to not see machine stitches all over. My new Springtime top is ready to wear! Of course, I will be hand washing this top from now on so the ruffles wont fray.

One Response to “Re-Style File #2”

  1. yvonne March 29, 2011 at 3:33 am #

    I love it Caasi it turned out beautiful!

Leave a Reply

