Forty Days…

9 Mar

The Lenten season is upon us.  During Lent we typically give up some vice we may have…and hope it sticks and evolves into a healthier lifestyle. 

What will I give up this year?  With a heavy heart (in part because its saturated with remnants of my baking past), my husband and I have agreed to the following:

  1. Replace all soft drinks and alcoholic beverages with water…yes, plain old water.
  2. Replace all fast food (i.e. McDonalds, In-N-Out, and the like) with–GASP–fruits and vegetables.
  3. Discontinue all desserts, or, in the alternative, fruits and/or sorbet may be substituted for dessert.

So, for the next forty days, you can look out for new recipes featuring tasty vegetables and delectable ways to serve fruit for dessert.  But, this means there will be no baking! 

At least I know I have forty days to figure out what fabulous desserts I’ll be making for Easter!!  Till then, I can only drool!

What will you give up for Lent this year?

3 Responses to “Forty Days…”

  1. Holly March 9, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    So basically, you’re giving up soda and Nathan is giving up beer?

    • whoopiecookie March 9, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

      If Nate was gonna give up Beer, I had to give up Dessert…Its a sad day…

      I’m more heartbroken over the dessert than the soda.

  2. yvonne March 9, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Hmm I will have To think long and hard since I just opened up my wine I bought from summers birthDay party!!!!!

Leave a Reply

