Self-Frosting Cupcakes

4 Mar

My world has been rocked! 

In need of a treat to bring to a dinner at friend’s house, I went straight to the interweb for quick ideas for a semi-homemade cupcake or whoopie pie type dessert.  I was really feeling banana and nutella for some reason.  So I decided to see what others have done to prepare nutella as a frosting.  My search yielded many results, but mostly they looked time-consuming (I only had about an hour to get this together).  I wasn’t really interested in making a full buttercream frosting this time. 

I did see a couple of references to “Self-Frosting Cupcakes” however and that of course caught my eye.  I am all about anything that is made easier and ends up just as beautiful as its fully homemade counterpart.  It’s not that I am lazy, per se, although I suppose I am to a degree, but I love beautiful things and don’t always have the time in this crazy mixed up world to do everything from scratch.  My time is better spent with my friends and family eating such treats. 

In any event, cupcakes that will frost themselves is probably the greatest baking event in my life since my discovery of whoopie pies.

Now Summer doesn’t believe that these cupcakes actually frost themselves.  As she put it, “What, the frosting jumps out of the can and dances across the cupcakes?” 

The frosting does not dance sadly, but if you fill your cupcake papers 2/3 and then drop a dollop of nutella in the center and take a toothpick and swirl it around and then bake as a you normally would, you get the effect of a frosted cupcake.  It is a gooey, hazel-nutty piece of heaven! 

So maybe they aren’t “self-frosting.”  Maybe Summer is right and I really just “pre-frosted” them.  Either way, this is amazing because you have one extra step before putting them in the oven and when you take them out you don’t have to worry about letting them cool before frosting.  You’re just done.  And as a bonus the swirling effect is beautiful.  I brought  a few in to share with co-workers and one thought they looked like something that might be sold in a Starbucks!  Seriously! 

So now I just have to figure out what else I can put nutella on top of!

4 Responses to “Self-Frosting Cupcakes”

  1. whoopiecookie March 4, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    That looks like the yummy goodness of a brownie swirl on top of a fluffy cupcake!

  2. Dan Fishman March 4, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    I am proud to have been a guinea pig for these delightful treats. These are the real deal – they have earned my chubbiness seal of approval. If you bake these on the whoopiecookie recommendation, please mail me some. Thank you.

  3. yumtherapy March 4, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    I’ve never heard of self-frosting cupcakes before. What a fantastic idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cinnamon Chip Scones « whoopie cookie - June 29, 2011

    […] be in the morning following an early game. So everyone brought breakfast items to share. I brought these and […]

Leave a Reply

