Chocolate Chip Whoopie Pies

8 Feb

Last weekend my son had a playdate with a friend from school.  The whole family was kindly invited over for dinner as well.  Taught never to show up empty-handed, I did what I do best…I baked.  Since we also had T-Ball practice earlier that day, I had little more than an hour to throw something together.

I stared at the pantry for about ten minutes.  It seemed that I was missing at least one ingredient for every recipe that I considered.  Literally, the only recipe that my kitchen could accommodate was that of Chocolate Chip Whoopie Pies with milk chocolate frosting.

The Chocolate Chip Whoopie Pie recipe is actually the same as the Vanilla Whoopie Pie recipe, but with the obvious, chocolate chips, added in at the last moment.  Since whoopie pies are small, it is best to use mini chocolate chips.  Unfortunately I only had only about a 1/2 cup of mini chips.  I used regular sized semi-sweets for the other 1/2 cup and they turned out just fine.

I think the best part about this combo is that it’s basically a classic chocolate chip cookie.  You really can’t go wrong with these treats and finally I got an enthusiastic response out of my husband.  These, he says, are his favorites so far!  Mission Accomplished!

One Response to “Chocolate Chip Whoopie Pies”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peanut Butter Whoopie Pies « whoopie cookie - February 14, 2011

    […] My contribution is almost always dessert.  So for February I brought whoopie pies!  I made Chocolate Chip Whoopie Pies and Peanut Butter Whoopie […]

Leave a Reply

