The Poor Man’s Photoshop

3 Feb

While scouring the web for new photo related projects I discovered my new favorite toy…

Picnik is a website providing online photo editing.  There are a ton of different options available to jazz up your photos.  You can purchase a premium membership as well to provide many more effects to fancy your family photos. 

For the everyday sort of use, I don’t think a premium membership is really necessary but there are definately a lot of cool features that would be nice to get my hands on! 

I actually have Photoshop and Illustrator on my home computer, but, sadly, I don’t have a clue how to use them.  Worse yet, I don’t have the time to learn how to use them!   The best part about Picnik.com is just how user friendly it is and the fact that you can use it anywhere.  You don’t need to sign up for anything (its completely free!) and if you have a picassa or photobucket account you can upload your photos in seconds.  You can add borders, text in a variety of fonts, stamped images and colors to any photo. 

Or, you can take any photo, add a rectangle and essentially cover the entire photo with it and then, viola!  You now have a blank canvas!  You can create anyhing without the need for complicated software.  I did just that to create a valentine for my son to pass out to his classmates later this month. 

You can then print out your creations at home, or send them to your local print source (i.e. Target, Fed Ex Kinkos, CVS, Walgreens, Costco).  Since you can save your image as a .jpg it uploads just like a regular old photo. 

You can make invites, cards or even wall art!  Check it out, play around and I promise you won’t be disappointed!

3 Responses to “The Poor Man’s Photoshop”

  1. Holly (eatrunsandiego) February 27, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    Thanks for the tip…now I feel like I have to run every photo through picnik before it is acceptable! Another hour of my life I’ll never get back…

    • whoopiecookie March 1, 2011 at 12:40 am #

      At least it doesn’t cost more than your time!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Love « whoopie cookie - June 15, 2012

    […] time ago I fell in love with Picnik for all my photo enhancing needs.  Well, it got bought up by Google.  So it is no longer.  If […]

Leave a Reply

