Gallactic Whoopie Pies

28 Jan

My dearest Carrie sent us the Star Wars cookie cutters and cupcake wrappers and toppers a la Williams-Sonoma for Christmas (Thank you Carrie!).  So for my son’s 5th birthday I put them to good use!

We decided not to throw a big party and instead spend the day together at Sea World.  But I did have to bring some sweet baked treats to preschool to share with the whole class.  I baked and baked and baked….

I started on the whoopie pies (vanilla with milk chocolate frosting was the requested flavor) on Tuesday morning.  I had to leave for work so I left my husband in charge.  Somehow, and I’m not placing blame, some of the whoopie pies came out slightly over-cooked.  He was kind enough to try a second batch.  I got a text message about mid day that read, “Don’t ask me how but I made biscuits again.  Sweet biscuits.”  Needless to say I had some ground to make up once I got home from work. 

With some assistance from my better half I finished all the whoopie pies and 4 dozen Star Wars shaped cookies.  It is customary in my son’s class to send goodie bags home with each child when celebrating a birthday.   I was reluctant to send the kids home with a baggie full of small toys that would no doubt end up in the trash or the hands of a younger sibling.  Instead I made Storm Trooper and Yoda cookies and placed them in clear plastic bags along with a small box of Star Wars crayons, tied off with ribbon. 

The cookies were just your standard sugar cookie recipe and I dyed one green for Yoda.  If you’re ambitious you can frost them with all the appropriate colors, but I just don’t have that kind of time.  I generally bake with a 1-year-old on my hip (Thank Goodness for my stand up mixer!  No hands!). 

The Star Wars theme was of course a huge hit with the class, since it is mostly boys.  But there wasn’t a crumb left behind, so I’d venture to guess that the girls enjoyed them too!

Leave a Reply

