Cranberry Bars: Take Two

6 Dec

Are you going to a Holiday Party and don’t want to show up empty handed? Show up with a festive tin filled with treats! Yum-O!! You can make bars, like my Cranberry ones below… or try Yvette’s brittle… I heard that people were sneaking it in thier purses when she took it to Thanksgiving dinner!

I finally had a chance to make my cranberry macadamia nut bars again! This time I used fresh cranberries. If you remember in a frantic rush to make something for a dinner party.. I used the dried un-sweetened kind. Thanks to Thanksgiving.. the grocery store has fresh ones! I stocked up! Although, another option is to buy frozen. I never thought to look there, but Yvette said that Henry’s has them. I don’t have a Henry’s near me, but I never really checked in the frozen section. Hmm…

As far as the nuts go… last time I used hazelnuts as a substitute. I really like the taste of hazelnuts, also why I LOVE NUTELLA!! Thanks to Yvette’s post on Nutella, I have a new way to eat it besides licking it off the spoon! Back from my tangent… my recipe calls for macadamia nuts, I was lucky to find some in the store this time. I guess when you aren’t running through the store like a crazy person, you can find just about everything you are looking for.

I was such a nerd and felt very infomercial-like by using my Magic Bullet! I used it to fine chop my macadamia nuts and later, my fresh cranberries. What else was I supposed to do? You try “chopping” cranberries and macadamia nuts on a cutting board! Now that I think about it… maybe I need that Slap Chop!!

Macademia Nuts

The bars turned out great! The coconut, cranberries, macadamia nuts.. what a perfect blend. The other bars were good in a pinch, but these were better. The thing I didn’t like about the first batch was the color. The dried cranberries don’t give off the color that the real cranberries do after being baked in the oven. I had an impartial taste tester… my great friend Laura! She has tasted many of my baked goods and has tasted both versions of this cranberry bar. It was her dinner party that I brought the substitute bars to and I had her over recently to taste the real version…what a trooper! She concurred.. the real deal was top notch!

Leave a Reply

