A Praline Disaster

22 Nov

For our annual International Thanksgiving Party, I contributed desserts. I made the classic pumpkin whoopie pies, but I wanted to try out a new recipe that my friend Betty Crocker gave me. It sounded great on paper–pumpkin cake, praline topping, pecans, and doctored up cream cheese frosting–how could it go wrong?

I have myself to blame. I was running late, as usual. After baking the whoopie pies I realized that I did not have any cupcake papers for the season. I ran down the street to my local Michaels. They were, of course, totally cleaned out of all Thanksgiving decorations. I settled on gold. At that disappointing moment, all of San Diego descended upon my Michaels. I waiting another 10 minutes in line to pay for my second choice cupcake papers.

By the time I got home, I had thirty minutes to finish my cake, put the whoopie pies together and get myself together. An impossible feat.

The whoopie pies are so simple and travel really really well so they were not the problem. My praline pumpkin cake, however, was a different story.

Sadly, this is my praline pumpkin cake’s finest moment. In a flurry of activity I frosted and boxed the cake before it had completely cooled. In the 5 minutes it takes to get to Summer’s house from mine, the frosting had melted and the top layer of cake had fallen off and broken into several pieces.

When we arrived I was informed that I also looked as if my top layer had fallen off and broken into several pieces (thanks, Summer).

We were able to salvage some of the cake by cutting it into bite-sized pieces and serving them on a cute dish.

If its true that it’s what’s on the inside that counts then this recipe is a winner. It tastes warm and gooey. The pumpkin flavor of the cake was just enough and it was ultra-moist. The praline was sweet and crunchy, and adding the pumpkin pie spice to the cream cheese frosting was just genius!

I would call this attempt a disaster, but I would definitely try this recipe again…when I have a little more time on my hands!

Leave a Reply

