The Cheesecake Chronicles: Double Layer Pumpkin Pie

7 Nov

As I’ve pointed out before, I am an almost-homemade kind of girl. I love finding recipes that call for regular ingredients that are easily found at my local grocery store. Even more, I love finding recipes that offer short cuts!

I am not quite as ambitious as my dear cousin, Caasi. I used a ready-made graham pie crust for my no-bake recipe.

1/2 8oz. pkg. Cream Cheese, softened
1tbsp milk
1tbsp sugar
1 8 oz. tub of thawed whipped topping
1 graham pie crust
1 cup milk
1  15oz can pumpkin
2  4 serving vanilla flavor instant pudding & pie filling
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1/4 tsp. ground cloves

 

First mix the cream cheese, 1 tbsp. of milk, and sugar with a wire whisk until its well blended.  Then very gently stir in half of the whipped topping.  This will make up the cream cheese layer of your double layer pumpkin pie.  Spread into the crust. 

Then mix 1 cup of milk in a large bowl with the pumpkin, dry pudding mixes and spices.  Again, beat with a wire whisk until its well blended.  Spread this pumpkin mixture over the cream cheese mixture. 

Refrigerate the pie for 4 hours until it sets.  When you serve it, top it with a dollop of the remaining whipped topping.

I’m not really a big cheesecake person, so this recipe is perfect for me.  The cheesecake taste is subtle in comparison to the pumpkin.  My better half, however, LOVES cheesecake so this was not quite enough for him.  But luckily he also loves pumpkin pie so it wasn’t totally wasted on him.

Leave a Reply

