The Cheesecake Chronicles: Pumpkin Cheesecake

5 Nov

9:34pm: Okay so we at Whoopie Cookie decided to have a Pumpkin Cheesecake “Throwdown” (a la Bobby Flay on The Food Network). I was coming off a great cheesecake victory! My first ever and it was spectacular! Being that it’s Fall and the fact that I have a pumpkin food fetish, I decided to try cheesecake of the pumpkin variety.

The night started out great. I made the crust faster and with more confidence than the first time I battled cheesecake. I was feeling like a pro. In the oven it went and onto blending up the filling. Ugh… the filling. I let the cream cheese soften a little too much. It was kind of runny instead of creamy and I hadn’t even added the last ingredient, eggs. I decided to give it 5 minutes in the refrigerator to set… disaster averted. I returned the mixing bowl to my stand mixer, I was locked and loaded. Speed low, I added egg number one, threw away the shell… egg two next. Egg two cracked, into the mixing bowl…with half the shell that slipped its slimy way out! Oh no! I’m trying to stop the mixer before the shell was in a million pieces… but I turn the speed the wrong way- into hyper mode!! What the?!?! I finally got it stopped. I removed the bowl from the mixer and fished out the egg shell. Thankfully, it only broke into 2 halves. I stuck both hands in feeling for shell, I was a little happy to feel how silky smooth the filling was. I guess you call that the silver lining? I dodged, so far, two potential cheesecake disasters! I pour the mixture into the crust (now out of the oven). Perfection! I carry the tray gently to the oven and place it on the rack. I slide the tray and it gets stuck for a second… just enough time for the filling to cover the crust on the backside! (Insert expletive here…)! I shut the oven door and start to laugh… now I know what Julie Powell felt like while she was on her mission to complete the Julie/Julia Project! I know cheesecake is no Beef Bourguignon or boning a duck… to me, it feels pretty close! 35 minutes left until cooling time…

10:32pm: The cheese cake is out. I prepared the sour cream topping. I know it sounds gross, but it’s a mixture with sugar and vanilla so it’s actually good! I spread that on top and I have five more minutes until cooling time! By the way… it smell delicious! Who cares what it looks like, as long as it tastes good, right?

10:45pm: Waiting 45 minutes for cooling in the pan. If I can get past the removing of the springform side…

11:26pm: Only one more hour of cooling, now that the pan sides are off. Then I get to go to bed. It seems as though I may have pulled this off! Can’t wait to try a slice tomorrow… and Laura- if you are reading this- I am 99% sure I got all the egg-shell out! I’ll see you tonight! 😉

2 Responses to “The Cheesecake Chronicles: Pumpkin Cheesecake”

  1. Yvette November 5, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    So how’d it turn out? As your competition, I will be “bringing it” this weekend…look out…

  2. you know who November 8, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    how come i wasn’t invited to participate in this cheesecake war? i JUST bought pumpkin cream cheese spread so don’t be surprised if i post something of my own! :P`

Leave a Reply

