A Modern Twist

2 Nov

The last two times we were able to make it to Disneyland I made it a point to have silhouette’s cut of the kids.  Big heads (aka oversized craniums) run in the family so we are particularly well suited for such an art form.

These silhouette’s are of course very traditional in nature.  I love finding new ways to incorporate them into modern design. 

Over the weekend I was looking for some art work to hang in our dining room.  I needed something with brown tones.  So I purchased a roll of woodgrain contact paper (honestly I’ve been looking for an excuse to use it) from Home Depot for about $6.

I very carefully cut pieces of contact paper to fit my frames (11×14).  Then, after having traced and cut out the silhouettes, I traced them onto the back side of the contact paper.  Again, very carefully, I cut them out.  You could use an exacto knife for this, but I used my favorite scrapbook scissors because I feel like I have more control with them.

I peeled the backing from the contact paper a little bit at a time sticking it to a plain sheet of 11×14 sketch paper.  I used my ruler to smooth out any air bubbles as I went. 

This was so easy and inexpensive to do, and I am IN LOVE with the results!

One Response to “A Modern Twist”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Updated Family Tree « whoopie cookie - February 21, 2011

    […] tree for inspiration at Byrdiegraphics and decided to carry the faux woodgrain contact paper from the dining room over to the family room.  I found some scrapbook paper that was patterned with flowers and some […]

Leave a Reply

