A Place to Lay Your Head

30 Oct

As we continue to put our stamp on our first home, we made our way to the bedroom.  When we first moved in together, I was going through a country, shabby-chic phase and our headboard really reflected that.  It was actually a piece of a picket fence cut down to size to fit our bed.  As we move forward in our lives, I am trying to go more modern.  Our bedroom is terribly small so the headboard is an easy way to have a HUGE impact in the room.  So that is where we decided to begin incorporating the modern elements that we were previously missing.

Now I regularly record and watch about three shows on HGTV, so I know (or at least I think I know) a thing or two about projects such as this.  I have seen Kristan Cunningham and Kahi Lee make upholstered headboards about a thousand times.  It looked easy enough.  While I recognize that the magic of TV is often time deceptive, in this instance, it really was as easy as it appears on TV.

I purchased a $7 piece of plywood from my local Home Depot.  I attached two inch foam with some spray adhesive.  Then I rolled out my batting (I purchased two yards), laid the plywood on top, foam side down.  Pulling tightly I then stapled the batting to the back side of my headboard.  Then with my chosen two yards of fabric lying good-side down (I chose a dark gray suede), I placed the plywood on top and repeated the same process to attach it to the headboard.  And at that point you are pretty much done!

I purchased two packages of french cleats from Home Depot as well to attach the headboard to the wall.  And ladies, when you ask for french cleats and the men at Home Depot look at you like you are crazy, you just say, “yes, they are called french cleats!”

Having the headboard attached to the wall really helped in adding about five inches of space to our room as well since the bed and its frame could be placed all the way against the wall.  Five inches make a pretty big difference in a room as small as ours!

I also picked out a couple of sconces from Home Depot (who knew they had stylish lighting solutions).  My wonderful husband did all the measuring and mathematics involved in hanging the headboard and the sconces.  With the addition of my new West Elm duvet cover, we had a brand new room!

We went from country and cramped to cool and modern in one weekday evening!

I think my favorite part of this transformation is that I was so proud of myself that I shared pictures with my friends and family immediately.  My dear friend Sage was so inspired by our project that she and her husband, Jason, ran out and made their own headboard!  They got crazy and added tufting and it turned out amazing!  In Sage’s words, Oooh, that looks rich!

So the question is…who’s next?!

One Response to “A Place to Lay Your Head”

  1. Julie October 30, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    Well done Yvette!! Looks fabulous!

Leave a Reply

